VPR Header
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

VPR Morning Edition Music Beds for the Week of 1/20/13

Monday, January 20th:

5:59am: Hiromi: "If", from "Brain."

6:20am: James Newton Howard: "War", from the soundtrack to the film "Duplicity."

6:49am: Bill Frisell: "Nobody's Fault", from "Beautiful Dreamers."

6:58am: McCoy Tyner: "Afro Blue", from the album of the same name.

7:20am: Brian Hughes: "Cafe Sin Nombre", from "Fast Train to a Quiet Place."

7:58am: Christian McBride: "Little Sunflower", from "Number Two Express."

8:20am: Jefferson Airplane: "Embryonic Journey", from "Surrealistic Pillow."

8:39am: Trio Subtonic: "Bombast", from "Cave Dweller."

8:50am: United Soul Association: "Sticky Boom Boom", from "Inner City Sounds."

8:59am: Oz Noy: "Epistrofunk", from "Fuzzy."

Tuesday, January 21st:

5:59am: Spirit Jazz Project: "A Struggle of Man", from "Square Peg."

6:20am: McCoy Tyner: "Contemplation", from "Guitars."

6:49am: Galactic: "Doo Rag", from "Coolin' Off."

6:58am: Grateful Dead: "Shakedown Street", Live from the Uptown Theater, Chicago, Ill., 12/5/79.

7:20am: Adam Kolker: "Don't Let it Bring You Down", from "Flag Day."

7:58am: Benevento Russo Duo: "Bronko's Blues", from "Best Reason to Buy the Sun."

8:20am: Willie Bobo: "Sunshine Superman", from "Verve: The Sound of America: The Singles Collection."

8:39am: Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon: "Sweet Emotion", from "Sixty Six Steps."

8:50am: Robert Walter: "Spell", from "Super Heavy Organ."

8:59am: Nate Najar and His Quartet: "Like, Coolsville", from the album of the same name.

Wednesday, January 22nd:

5:59am: Scott Amendola Band: "Buffalo Bird Woman", from "Assemblage: 1998-2008."

6:20am: Bill Frisell: "Wildwood Flower", from "The Best of Bill Frisell, Vol. 1: Folk Songs."

6:49am: String Cheese Incident: "Naive Melody", from "Rhythm of the Road, Vol. 1: Incident in Atlanta 11/17/00."

6:58am: Jazz Mandolin Project: "Mandoneon", from "The Jazz Mandolin Project."

7:20am: Ben Williams: "Little Susie", from "State of Art."

7:58am: Pharoah Sanders: "Astral Traveling", from "Thembi."

8:20am: Mike Gordon: "Major Minor", from "Inside In."

8:39am: Steely Dan: "Bodhisattva", from "Countdown to Ecstacy."

8:50am: Victor Wooten: "The Lesson", from "Palmystery."

8:59am: Alan Evans Trio: "They Call Me Velvet", from "Merkaba."

Thursday, January 23rd:

5:59am: McCoy Tyner: "The Greeting", from the album of the same name.

6:20am: John Scofield: "Behind Closed Doors", from "This Meets That."

6:49am: Damian Erskine: "Costa del Sol", from "Trios."

6:58am: Pharoah Sanders: "Upper Egypt and Lower Egypt", from "Tauhid."

7:20am: Stephane Wrembel: "Momentum", from "Origins."

7:58am: Beastie Boys: "Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament", from "Hot Sauce Committee, Part 2."

8:20am: Twiddle: "Less Than Ostentatious", from "Natural Evolution of Consciousness."

8:39am: Grateful Dead: "Eyes of the World", Live from Greensboro Coliseum, NC., 3/31/91.

8:50am: Treme Brass Band: "You Are My Sunshine", from "The Treme Brass Band."

8:59am: Soulive: "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", from "Rubber Soulive."

Friday, January 24th:

5:59am: RJ Miller: "Ronald's Rhythm", from the album of the same name.

6:20am: Earl Klugh: "Cast Your Fate to the Wind", from "Best of Earl Klugh, Vol. 2."

6:49am: Laurence Juber: "Every Breath You Take", from "Pop Goes Guitar."

6:58am: Grateful Dead: "Casey Jones", Live from the Paramount Theater, Portland, OR., 10/2/77.

7:20am: Penguin Cafe Orchestra: "Scherzo and Trio", from "Union Cafe."

7:58am: Scott Witte: "Bounce", from "Sound Shadows."

8:20am: Galactic: "Goodnight", from "Coolin' Off."

8:39am: Christophe Beck: "Year of the Dog", from the soundtrack to the film of the same name.

8:50am: The Black Crowes: "Everybody Knows This is Nowhere", Live from the BC Roadshow, NYC., 10/27/13.

8:59am: String Cheese Incident: "Little Hands", from "A String Cheese Incident."