VPR Header
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

VPR Morning Edition Music Beds for the Week of 3/10/14

Monday, March 10th:

5:59am: Bill Frisell: "Roscoe", from "Good Dog, Happy Man."

6:20am: Monstrance: "Little Field", from "Monstrance."

6:49am: Crimson Jazz Trio: "Matte Kudasai", from "King Crimson Songbook, Vol. 1."

6:58am: Jerry Garcia Band: "The Harder They Come", from "The Long Island Sound: Live at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, NY., 9/5/89."

7:20am: Louis Armstrong: "Wild Man Blues", from "The Essential Louis Armstrong."

7:58am: McCoy Tyner and Marc Ribot: "Passion Dance", from "Guitars."

8:20am: Sim Redmond Band: "Good Thoughts", from "Sim Redmond Band."

8:39am: Shawn Lee and Clutchy Hopkins: "Ancient Chinese Secret", from "Fascinating Fingers."

8:50am: Massive Attack: "Exchange", from "Mezzanine."

8:59am: Dominik Hauser: "Sherlock Main Theme", from the BBC TV mini-series soundtrack "Sherlock."

Tuesday, March 11th:

5:59am: Avishai Cohen: "Calm", from "Continuo."

6:20am: Jerry Douglas: "King Silkie", from "Traveler."

6:49am: Grateful Dead: "Stir It Up Jam", Live from the Capital Centre, Landover, MD., 3/21/91.

6:58am: Medeski, Martin, and Wood: "Nostalgia in Times Square", from "Free Magic."

7:20am: Fleetwood Mac: "Albatross", from "The Pious Bird of Good Omen."

7:58am: Brian Bromberg: "The Wind Cries Mary", from "Bromberg Plays Hendrix."

8:20am: #1 Tribute Band: "Don't Stop Til You Get Enough", from "Acoustic Guitar Tribute to Michael Jackson."

8:39am: Bei Bei and Shawn Lee: "Little Nature", from "Into the Wind."

8:50am: Bill Frisell: "That's Alright, Mama", from "Disfarmer."

8:59am: Jazz Soul Seven: "It's All Right", from "Impressions of Curtis Mayfield."

Wednesday, March 12th:

5:59am: Vieux Farka Toure: "Slow Jam", from "Fondo."

6:20am: Jazz Mandolin Project: "The Opera", from "The Jazz Mandolin Project."

6:49am: Marcus Roberts and Bela Fleck: "I'm Gonna Tell You This Story One More Time", from "Across the Imaginary Divide."

6:58am: Phish: "Cars, Trucks, Buses", Live from Portland, OR., 7/15/98.

7:20am: Dire Straits: "Once Upon a Time in the West", from "Communique."

7:58am: Kermit Ruffins: "Sugar", from "Happy Talk."

8:20am: Alexandre Desplat: "Kristofferson's Theme", from the soundtrack to the film "Fantastic Mr. Fox."

8:39am: Charlie Hunter: "What I Am", from "Earth Tones."

8:50am: Zane Carney: "Snow", from "Amalgam."

8:59am: Van McCoy: "The Hustle", from "The Hustle and the Best of Van McCoy."

Thursday, March 13th:

5:59am: Fumihito Sugawara & Claude Nine  "Cha Cha de Noir", from "35mm."

6:20am: Marcus Roberts and Bela Fleck: "Some Roads Lead Home", from "Across the Imaginary Divide."

6:49am: Charles Atlas: "Snow Before Us", from the soundtrack to the film "Up In the Air."

6:58am: Aaron Parks: "Riddle Me This", from "Invisible Cinema."

7:20am: John Lurie National Orchestra: "Men With Sticks", from the album of the same name.

7:58am: RJD2: “Incorporate Anthem”, from “In Rare Form: Unreleased Instrumentals.”

8:20am: David Ornette Cherry: "Free Zone", from "It Could Be Different."

8:39am: Mongo Santamaria: "Cold Sweat", from "Soul Bag."

8:50am: Grateful Dead: "Big Railroad Blues", Live from Rotterdam Civic Hall, Rotterdam, Holland, 5/11/72.

8:59am: Club Des Belugas: "Coffee To Go", from "Apricoo Soul."

Friday, March 14th:

5:59am: Souljazz Orchestra: "East Flows the River", from "Inner Fire."

6:20am: Jesse Cook: "Mario Takes a Walk", from "Gravity."

6:49am: Leo Kottke: "Little Martha", from "A Shout Toward Noon."

6:58am: The String Cheese Incident: "Freedom Jazz Dance", from "On the Road: Live in Vancouver, BC., 10/16/02."

7:20am: Beastie Boys: "Ricky's Theme", from "Ill Communication."

7:58am: Jerry Garcia Band: "Bright Side of the Road", from "Pure Jerry: Live at Hampton Coliseum, Hampton, VA., 11/9/91.

8:20am: The Greyboy Allstars: "Pigeons Under Water", from "What Happened to Television?"

8:39am: Chris Joss:  "A Soft Reprise", from "Sticks."

8:50am: Keller Williams: "Fire on the Mountain", Live from Mishawaka Amphitheatre, Bellvue. CO., 7/13/12.

8:59am: Eddie Palmieri: "Locked In", from the soundtrack to the film "Doin' It in the Park."