VPR Header
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
VPR News
Public Post is a community reporting initiative using digital tools to report on cities and towns across Vermont.Public Post is the only resource that lets you browse and search documents across dozens of Vermont municipal websites in one place.Follow reporter Amy Kolb Noyes and #PublicPost on Twitter and read news from the Post below.

Four Vermonters Named To Olympic Cross Country Team

Four Vermonters were among the 14 cross country athletes nominated to the U.S. Olympic Team Wednesday afternoon.

Andy Newell, of Shaftsbury, made the men's team. Newell will ski with Erik Bjornsen and Brian Gregg, both of Winthrop, Wash., Kris Freeman, of Concord, N.H., Simi Hamilton and Noah Hoffman, both of Aspen, Colo., and Torin Koos, of Leavenworth, Wash. 

Three Vermonters made the women’s team. They are Sophie Caldwell, of Peru, Ida Sargent, of Orleans and Liz Stephen, of East Montpelier. Joining them will be Sadie Bjornsen, of Winthrop, Wash.; Holly Brooks, of Anchorage, Alaska; Jessie Diggins, of Afton, Minn., and Kikkan Randall, of Anchorage, Alaska.

"We have a unique opportunity to make history in Sochi." - Head Cross Country Coach Chris Grover

“We have a unique opportunity to make history in Sochi,” commented Head Cross County Coach Chris Grover. “Our team speaks to years of dedication, experience and hard work with veterans setting the stage to turn that work into great results. Additionally, our younger athletes are fighting for results and have shown that they have earned their spots on this team. We're ready for the challenge ahead.”

The team includes seven athletes with Olympic experience, including Newell and Stephen. Kikkan Randall, a two-time World Cup sprint champion, is going into the Games as a strong favorite. The U.S. team has been heralded for the strength of its roster throughout the season thus far and is expected to challenge the strong international field for Olympic medals. The formal naming of the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team by the United States Olympic Committee is set for Jan. 27.

Related Content